Intercultural Mediation

Our intercultural mediators, as former refugees themselves, are uniquely well-placed to help create dialogue and direct communication between migrants and refugees and their host country. They know how to listen and understand-well the concerns and needs of migrants. This, coupled with their experience, means that they are well-placed to provide information and a helping-hand to newly-arrived refugees. They help refugees develop a relationship with local organisations and establishments as well as with the authorities, other associations and community groups.

Our experience shows that intercultural mediators not only help facilitate integration but can also be important to informing the institutional environment about the realities and challenges faced by refugees. Furthermore, they provide a connection between migrant generations and volunteers from all walks of life.

Moreover, through communication and awareness spreading, our intercultural mediators help deconstruct prejudices and build a warmer sense of community welcome in Geneva.

Activities facilitated by intercultural mediation:

 

  • Shared meals. We host shared meals, cooked by refugees, during which topics such as health, education or risk behaviour can be discussed and addressed. At these events, specialised professionals are invited-in to give presentations on their area of expertise. Our refugees are always happy to share their culture and at AMIC we take catering requests as a way of providing intercultural exchange and income for refugees. Please contact us here … or by other means at …
  • Social mediation. We provide social mediation and support to families as needed.
  • Cultural connection. We believe that refugees should be able to appreciate and enjoy their home country culture as well. Therefore, we host Tigrinya language classes, cooking workshops and traditional Eritrean dance classes. These workshops are led by migrants and provide a way for migrants to improve their skills as well as facilitating cultural exchange. These workshops are open to everyone.

 

 

Les événements AMIC

Journée mondiale contre les mutilations génitales féminines 2020

L’AMIC co-organise une journée d’information avec les HUG

Médiation interculturelle

Etant elles-mêmes anciennes réfugiées, les médiatrices de l’AMIC sont des interlocutrices privilégiées pour établir un contact concret et direct entre les migrant-e-s et le pays d’accueil. Elles offrent écoute et soutien et apportent des informations de base nécessaires pour faire face aux défis de la vie quotidienne. Grâce à leur double culture, elles sont identifiées comme des personnes de référence au sein de leur communauté et sont souvent sollicitées pour faciliter les liens et la communication entre différents acteurs locaux actifs dans le domaine de l’accueil des migrants (institutions publiques, associations, particuliers).

L’expérience de ces dernières années nous montre que le rôle des médiatrices est non seulement de faciliter l’intégration et l’adaptation des nouveaux arrivants à la société d’accueil, mais aussi d’informer le milieu institutionnel sur des situations réelles de terrain. De plus, elles jouent un rôle de plateforme qui crée des liens entre les générations de migrants et les bénévoles de toutes provenances qui cherchent à s’engager.

Finalement, à travers l’échange et la communication, les  médiatrices de l’AMIC visent à déconstruire des préjugés pour apporter une meilleure cohésion sociale au sein de la population genevoise.

Quelques activités facilitées par la médiation interculturelle:

  • Des repas cuisinés par des réfugiés sont organisés pour aborder différents thèmes comme la santé, l’hygiène, l’éducation ou encore les conduites à risques. Des personnes spécialisées sur le sujet sont invitées pour une présentation et une discussion. L’AMIC prend aussi des commandes traiteur sur demande (cliquer ici, nous contacter….ou autre).
  • Une médiation sociale ou au sein des familles peut être mise en place au besoin
  • Dans le but de faciliter l’intégration et de partager les richesses culturelles, l’AMIC propose des cours de langue tigrigna, des ateliers de cuisine et de danse traditionnelle érythréenne. Les cours et ateliers sont animés par des personnes migrantes. Ceux-ci contribuent à valoriser leur compétences tout en favorisant les échanges culturels. Ces services sont destinés à tous.